Tranquilo (calm)–reverb11, day 8

Still keeping up with the rever11 challenge:

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2011/12/december-8–reverb11—tranquilo-calm/ 

Today’s prompt:

Sometimes the most beautiful, memorable moments are also the quietest. What quiet, beautiful moment do you recall?

In the days leading up to Mom’s passing, when she was developing symptoms of sepsis, I was feeling anxious due to being pulled in a million different directions. The most stressful thing was that one of the nurses was giving me a hard time about my decisions concerning Mom’s care, even though we all knew it was in Mom’s best interest. I felt as though I was having to take care of so many people, not just Mom, and it was exhausting. I’m not usually an overly anxious sort of person (or maybe I’m just in denial), so I had to seek out some alternative methods of addressing the turmoil that I was experiencing.

Soon after reading the riot act to this particular nurse, I felt even worse because I don’t like being harsh with people. I didn’t have time to work out that day, but I had about 10 minutes of free time when I stopped by the soup kitchen to drop off some stuff. So I ran up and down a stairwell that few people know about at that church. That helped with the adrenaline, but it didn’t calm me down completely. A little later that day, I had another short break, and I went over to the zen garden outside of the place where I go to yoga. I didn’t have a quiet spot at home because of all the people around, so this garden provided me with the sanctuary that I couldn’t have in my own backyard. I sat and meditated, listening to the chimes blowing in the wind, and centering myself so that I could return home in a better frame of mind. Because this is Texas, it’s not just your regular ol’ run-of-the-mill zen garden. It’s the biggest, zen-iest garden imaginable. I still love it there, although I now can experience tranquility in my own garden. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I don’t know what I would have done if I hadn’t been able to surround myself with the silent beauty of this sacred space.

zen garden
There is something amazing about communing with nature. I love it and feel so alive and connected to the universe when I hear the sound of the breeze rustling through the trees, the fresh air around me, and the sun shining down. Add the fragrance of flowers and herbs in bloom, and it’s heavenly.

Quietness is something that I cherish…it’s not just something I thrive on but something I absolutely crave and need. I’m thankful for the solitude of the zen garden when I needed it, and I’m thankful for all the moments of stillness that keep me grounded.

Leave a Reply

