Sueño (dream): reverb11, Day 5

Almost forgot to write today’s entry! Just when I thought I was up-to-date…

As a reminder, here is the context:

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2011/12/december-5–reverb11—sueno-dream/ 

And the prompt:

What was your dream come true in 2011? What is your wildest dream for 2012?

Another difficult question, as I’m not typically one for “dreams come true.” But…booking a flight to Cuba still seems a little surreal. So excited about getting to visit a place that I’ve wanted to see for so long but didn’t think was realistic anytime in the near future. Have dreamed of traveling there for so long that I literally jumped at the opportunity and booked my trip less than 5 minutes after learning about possibility. Perhaps the most impulsive thing I’ve ever done, but then again, I’ve been waiting for years.

Wildest dream for 2012?? Now, these are the sorts of things I dream of…

I dream of a world where no one has to worry about whether there will be food to eat today…or clean drinking water…or a safe, climate-controlled place to sleep at night…or how to pay for medical bills.
I dream of a world where children aren’t bullied for how they look, how they talk, how they walk, and the adults in their life are loving, compassionate nurturers.
I dream of a world where two consenting adults are able to marry each other without having to seek social approval from politicians and voters.
I dream of a world where bombs are obsolete and peace is just the way people relate.
I dream of a world where corporate interests don’t compete with human interests but seek to support us all.
I dream of a world where everyone knows and experiences love.
I dream of a world where creative artistic expressions are valued more than celebrities.
I dream of a world where we take care of our planet and each other and show gratitude for what we’ve been given.

My wildest dream is that we take steps toward these necessary goals and spend more time sharing in community and less time sabotaging each other and ourselves. Who’s with me?

And in the meantime, I dream of more songs that long for “Peace on earth and in my soul.”

http://heatherlynmusic.bandcamp.com/track/when-i-dream

Now off to sleep. Pleasant dreams, everyone!

One thought on “Sueño (dream): reverb11, Day 5

  1. Kyndra Roth says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing..

Leave a Reply

